Urine solution…?

On April 19 (2024), I texted my Wise Gardening Friend about the yellowing jalapeño leaves.  She said peppers need lots of nitrogen…

…and urine has nitrogen…

She informed me that leaves that yellow like that can be an indicator of a need for nitrogen, and advised me to water lightly with a solution of 10% urine and 90% water.

She cautioned me not to do it more than once, though, because while urine has nitrogen, it also has too much other salts.  Apparently the plants can withstand one dose of those salts, but not more than that.

She also said no matter what, you need plant food for peppers.

Since I’m prone to urinary problems these days, I asked my roommate if he’d donate a bit of urine into a water bottle, instructing him how high to fill the bottle, and then I filled the rest with water, dumped it as evenly as possible over the peat of the jalapeño plant, and crossed my fingers!

I think I did this on April 25.

Here we are, on April 27…

Author: Laina Eartharcher

Feet on the ground, eyes toward the sky.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started