‘Mu*’ Week – Mustard & Mushrooms

The themes for the week were “Mu” – Mustard and Mushrooms!

I grew mustard sprouts for the first time, starting them Sunday afternoon, then starting the spray-n-cover.  They germinated right away, and at a high rate (!).  They grew really fast; I took pictures of the whole process every day.

By Thursday afternoon I had to put them on the window sill for the green-up period.  By 6-7p I had to pull them and put them in the fridge because I had to leave and meet a friend, and by then it was darker anyway.  I was surprised, because the YouTube video I’d watched had gone like 7 days, and I found myself having to pull mine at noon on Day 4 (figuring Monday-Thursday growing).

Mushrooms have been an area of keen interest too, because they’re something we can do with limited space and in the shade, and we eat plenty of them, so it may be worth it to learn how to grow our own.  There’s a lot involved in growing mushrooms, several steps and many different possible methods.

So we’ll start with spray-&-grow kits first, where professionals have done everything for you except actually make the cuts in the block and spray water for growth.  They’re the most expensive, for that reason, and not cost-effective long-term for sourcing your own mushrooms.

Then we’ll look at buying premade spawn and substrate but then growing our own mycelium blocks.  And from there, we may try to obtain our own spawn/spores from existing mushrooms and/or obtain our own substrate like cardboard or whatever.  And our own vessels, too – 5-gallon buckets, etc.

Author: Laina Eartharcher

Feet on the ground, eyes toward the sky.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started