Figuring out mustard (and other mucilaginous) seeds…and mushrooms

I think I finally have the whole mustard seed thing figured out, at least enough to start my first batch.  It’s an experiment, because I’ve heard very conflicting info from different (and sometime the same) sources, so…

Finally came across this info, which clears things up a bit better:

“Unlike most sprouting seeds, brown mustard is extremely mucilaginous and benefits best when sprouted exclusively in a terra cotta sprouting saucer.  However, if part of a mix and sprouted with many seeds at once, the mustard’s mucilaginous properties will be reduced and then can be sprouted traditionally in a jar, sprout tray, or hemp sprouting bag.  Non-GMO brown mustard seeds do not require an initial soaking.  Steep terra cotta sprouter in water, allowing entire saucer to become saturated before sowing.  Add about 2 tbsp Organic brown mustard seeds and lightly mist seeds 2-3x per day for 5-6 days, keeping mustard sprouts fresh, crunchy, and hydrated without waterlogging.  Non-GMO brown mustard sprouts are quick to harvest in just 5-6 days, ready for fresh use with a robust, spicy zest similar to horseradish.”

I soaked both terra cotta pots (needs 2 – a top and a bottom) in Kangen water.  Then added 2 tbsp of seeds, moved into a single layer.  There’s a lot of static, though (I’ve noticed that with a few varieties of small seeds), and I wonder if that will affect the germination rate?

Kind of concerned about my TrueLeafMarket order from…last week?  Late the week before?  The other 2 packages we ordered from other places have arrived, but not TLM.  I remember their delivery being a bit slow but not this slow, I don’t think.  So, tomorrow’s to-do list is already shaping up…

I figure I’ll work the mushrooms like this:

  • Grow oyster mushrooms first, from a spray-and-grow kit – word on the street is that they’re the easiest for beginners.
  • Then grow lion’s mane, also from a spray-and-grow kit – word on the street is that they’re one step more advanced.
  • Then I’ll see if I can grow reishi, shitake, mitake, etc – grow kits first, unless I feel comfortable enough by then to try going it alone.  I just have to find out which substrates everything likes, because I know that substrate counts.

Author: Laina Eartharcher

Feet on the ground, eyes toward the sky.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started